The ban to smoke in Omaha began October 2nd and applies to nearly all public places. How about this for violators: $100 for first offense, $200 for second offense, and $500 for third and subsequent offenses.
The Nebraska city's elected leaders and police department are urging residents who see violations to call the 9-1-1 emergency system for an immediate response.Yes, that's right. Omaha residents are encouraged to report violations of the non-smoking ordinance to authorities just like any other crime.
Douglas County Emergency director Mark Conrey said people should not call 9-1-1 every time they see someone light up in a restricted area. He said the very idea threatens Douglas County's emergency system.I agree that smoking is bad for your health, but potential use of tax dollars for literally the "smoking police" may be a bit much.
But, even after Conrey's concerns, Omaha police insisted residents should use 9-1-1 to report smoking law violators.
I can just see this --> (Cue announcer voice) Next on COPS: From Omaha, Nebraska -- Don't even think about lighting up a cigarette. Watch as our TV cameras follow Omaha's Finest bust chain smokers -- Saturday at 8pm. HA!